Do we live our own lives?

Hallo! I’ve just had a wonderful weekend with great food and great company. I just feel at ease, so peaceful and my mind is starting to calm down. I stared feeling a bit shocked about my state of mind and how I was feeling this blissful happiness, since only a couple of days ago my mind and world was chaos. I’m just so used to being sad and worried about everything that I started to doubt that this feeling was real. Am I just distracting myself? Is it wrong not to worry when I have all of these deadlines? Is this feeling just fake? What about this? What about that? Then I just stopped myself and switched my mind. Why do we keep feeling guilty when we feel good? Do we feel like we don’t deserve to feel relaxed? Do we keep living our lives stressed out because we feel guilty if we’re not? I think this is because we are told how we should live our lives, that we are supposed to have gotten this far by now, our we should look at those around us and have the lives that they have. And if we fail to meet the standards that have been set in our own minds and others we should feel stressed and guilty, or even ashamed about it until we get there. image

I think this is the automatic way of acting and thinking (well for me at least). This is sad. I don’t want to wake up one morning when I’m 40 something, and then realized that I never truly lived. Maybe this is the case for a lot of people, since we do feel good when we obtain the standard that other people have in mind, when other people are jealous of our lives or we did what our parents wanted us to do. Maybe we live out of fear, never being good enough and base our worth on what other people think about us. I will do my best to focus and not lose my sight on what I want to do without thinking about everyone else’s opinion about it, at the end of the day, it’s just me anyway. You should follow and create your own path, not follow everyone. If everyone walks the same path, there will be no more good experiences, no original ideas, no new inspiration. So please, feel good about yourself and your life without feeling guilty about it.

Can you remember who you were before the world told you who you should be? -Danielle LaPorte

-Ida

 

Leave a Reply

